Yvonne Fair – The Bitch Is Black 1975 (USA, Soul/Funk)

Исполнитель: Yvonne Fair
Откуда: USA
Альбом: The Bitch Is Black
Год выхода: 1975
Жанр: Soul/Funk
Формат: MP3 CBR 320
Размер архива: 76.2 МB

Flora Yvonne Coleman was born in Richmond, Virginia on October 12, 1942. She dropped out of high school in the eleventh grade to marry Leroy Fair, and gave birth to their son shortly after. At the recommendation of her husband, she joined the Chantels and then the James Brown Revue in 1961. While performing with Brown, she recorded a few singles for King Records, including «I Found You», which he later re-worked into his own signature hit «I Got You (I Feel Good)». She later linked up with Chuck Jackson who took her to Motown Records. Fair had a small part as a singer in the Motown produced film Lady Sings the Blues (1972). While on Motown, she was the opening act for the Temptations, the Jackson 5, Marvin Gaye, and Stevie Wonder. Fair worked with producer Norman Whitfield on a series of singles: «Love Ain’t No Toy», «Walk Out the Door If You Wanna», and her cover version of «Funky Music Sho’ ‘Nuff Turns Me On». All these featured on her only album in 1975 titled The Bitch Is Black, which was re-released on CD for the first time more than 30 years later. Her cover of «It Should Have Been Me» reached the low end of the Billboard Hot 100 chart in 1976. The track proved a big hit in the UK, where it climbed to number 5 in February 1976, Fair’s only UK hit record. In addition, the song featured in a special episode of BBC TV programme The Vicar of Dibley, entitled «The Handsome Stranger», originally broadcast on 25 December 2006. By the 1980s, Fair had retired from recording and would occasionally perform in small clubs and bars around Los Angeles. She worked as Dionne Warwick’s wardrobe coordinator. In 1991, Fair appeared on a TV movie called Mr. Roadrunner, starring Jools Holland and Stephen Fry, lip-synching her signature song, «It Should Have Been Me». Fair died at the age of 51, from pancreatic cancer in Las Vegas, Nevada, on March 6, 1994.

01. Funky Music Sho Nuff Turns Me On — 3:01
02. It Should Have Been Me — 3:31
03. Stay A Little Longer — 3:24
04. It’s Bad For Me To See You — 3:30
05. Tell Me Something Good — 3:25
06. Let Your Hair Down — 4:05
07. Love Ain’t No Toy — 3:21
08. I Know (You Don’t Love Me No More) — 3:14
09. Walk Out The Door If You Wanna — 2:13
10. You Can’t Judge A Book By It’s Cover — 2:43

Yvonne Fair — vocals
Dennis Coffey, Eddie Willis, Johnny McGhee, Melvin «Wah Wah» Ragin — guitar
Earl Van Dyke, Mark Davis — keyboards
Henry Davis, James Jamerson — bass
Eddie «Bongo» Brown — congas, bongos
Eddie Greene, James Gadson — drums
Carolyn Willis, Julia Tillman Waters, Luther Waters, Maxine Willard, Oren Waters — backing vocals
Norman Whitfield, Paul Riser — arrangements


Категории: Albums, Funk, Soul, USA  Метки:
Notify of

0 комментариев
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments