The Centuries — Like Weird! 2018 (USA, Surf)

Исполнитель: The Centuries
Откуда: USA
Альбом: Like Weird!
Год выхода: 2018 (recorded in 1961-1964)
Жанр: Surf
Формат: MP3 CBR 320
Размер архива: 77.1 МB


The most resonant room in the Newark Public Library in 1958 was the locker room where Gary Swangin practiced his singing. Swangin, a high school student who worked part time at the checkout desk, would often sneak away during breaks to hone his technique and work on an original song, “The Promise of Love”—until he got caught.

When coworker Salvatore Girgenti heard it echoing off the tile and steel, he was so taken that he suggested they play together. With Girgenti on rhythm guitar, they recruited the D’Amato brothers, Charles, who played drums standing up, and Peter on lead guitar.

D’Amato’s neighbor Francis Corragio brought virtuosity to their nascent band, at first playing an amplified upright bass. Corragio had started playing at eleven years old, and by the time of the Centuries he was taking lessons from members of the New Jersey Symphony Orchestra and New York Philharmonic.

The library would prove crucial in another way. Swangin checked people’s books and bags as they exited the building, bringing him into contact with a wide range of folks—including Cleopatra Records’ Tommy Falcone.

By 1960, Swangin’s education at Rutgers University was taking priority and his musical ambitions were expanding.He went on to Columbia University and performed in the Greenwich Village folk scene with a far-ahead-of-its-time fusion of modern lyricism with African rhythms.

With Swangin gone, the band took a sharp turn into new waters rough with surf—losing lyrics but compensating with invention and melody. The Centuries transformed into an instrumental rock group inspired by the space race and Polynesia, becoming Falcone’s very own version of the Ventures with whom to explore the then-burgeoning sounds of surf rock and exotica.


01. Anniversary Hop — 2:10
02. Theme Of The Centuries — 1:48
03. The Outer Limits — 2:13
04. Beach Umbrella World — 2:55
05. Like Weird! (George Raft Theme) — 2:25
06. Shoop De Hoop Twine (Instrumental) — 2:19
07. Polynesian Paradise — 2:05
08. Time Bomb — 2:24
09. Midnight On Mars — 2:00
10. Lonely Night — 2:32
11. Twist Along — 1:51
12. Surfin’ Seahorse — 2:09
13. Chihuahua Cha Cha — 2:05
14. Untitled — 2:53

Gary Swangin — vocals
Peter D’Amato — lead guitar
Salvatore Girgenti — rhythm guitar
Francis Corragio — bass
Charles D’Amato — drums
Tommy Falcone — producer


Категории: Albums, Surf, USA  Метки:
0 комментариев
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments