Switch — Switch 1978 (USA, Funk/Soul)

Исполнитель: Switch
Откуда: USA
Альбом: Switch
Год выхода: 1978
Жанр: Funk/Soul
Формат: MP3 CBR 320
Размер архива: 68.3 МB

Soul, funk and disco sextet, formed in Mansfield, Ohio in 1974 with 3 members from Grand Rapids (Michigan) and 3 other members from Akron (Ohio). At the time, they called themselves First Class. They then joined Barry White’s White Heat as backing band musicians and were let go shortly thereafter. Eventually changing their name to Switch due to their ability to ‘switch’ to different instruments during a song, the group got the attention of Jermaine Jackson who heard the group’s demo tape and within days the group was promptly signed to the Motown Records subsidiary label, Gordy. There, they recorded and released their self titled debut album in 1978. The album featured their first Top 10 R&B hit single entitled «There’ll Never Be». Depending on whom was singing lead on the songs, their songs were written by Williams, Ingram and the late Bobby DeBarge and often in collaboration with Jermaine Jackson, who continued to sponsor the band throughout their five years on the label. Though they never did manage to cross over into the pop singles chart, they were a consistent presence on the R&B charts through the late 1970s. Other than «There’ll Never Be», songs such as «I Call Your Name» (1979), «Best Beat In Town» (1979) and «Love Over And Over Again» (1980) also became hits for the group. Shortly after, the DeBarge brothers left to mentor the group DeBarge with their siblings, and lead singer Phillip Ingram left to pursue a solo career, so 3 new musicians were added to Switch for vocals, percussion and keyboards. This configuration of Switch signed with Total Experience and recorded a final album in 1984. The group broke up later on that year. Since 2010 Switch has reunited featuring 3 original members, 1 original sessions/on stage guitarist, and 3 new members.

01. I Wanna Be With You — 3:50
02. There’ll Never Be — 4:52
03. I Wanna Be Closer — 4:12
04. We Like To Party…Come On — 3:42
05. Fever — 3:26
06. You Pulled A Switch — 3:52
07. It’s So Real — 4:01
08. Somebody’s Watchin’ You — 3:25

Phillip Ingram — lead vocals, keyboards, percussion
Bobby DeBarge — lead vocals, keyboards, drums, arranger (01, 02), producer (01, 02)
Tommy DeBarge — bass, backing vocals
Gregory Williams — keyboards, trumpet, backing vocals, arranger (04), producer (04)
Eddie Fluellen — keyboards, strings ensemble, trombone, backing vocals
Jody Sims — drums, percussion, backing vocals, arranger (08), producer (08)
Lil’ David Podis, Mike McGloiry, Ronnie Vann — guitar
Jermaine Jackson — arranger (03, 07), producer (03)
Greg Wright — arranger (05, 06), producer (05, 06)
Kim Richmond — arranger (07)
Michael B. Sutton — arranger (07), producer (07)
Brenda Sutton — producer (07)
The Bewley Brothers — producer (01, 02, 04, 08)


Категории: Albums, Funk, Soul, USA  Метки:
0 комментариев
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments