Shane Martin — Columbia & Epic Singles 2018 (USA, Pop)

Исполнитель: Shane Martin
Откуда: USA
Альбом: Columbia & Epic Singles
Год выхода: 2018 (recorded in 1967-1969)
Жанр: Pop
Формат: MP3 CBR 320
Размер архива: 77.1 МB

Shane Martin (aka Neale Lundgren) was from New Orleans and naturally drawn to soul music’s “range of emotion.” Lundgren started out in the Crescent City garage scene as a singer for bands like the Twilights and an early version of the legendary Gaunga Dyns. His ship came in and he was signed as a solo artist to Columbia/Epic. He certainly had a smooth and strong delivery, but not enough distinction in his voice to take him to the first class. Songs like “Don’t Take Tomorrow Away” had him leaning more towards Gene Pitney than Steve Marriott, but there is certainly the presence of soul (and sometimes a slight sneer) in his voice. From around a corner, the propulsive horns on «You’re So Young» and «I Need You»sound like the building brass section from «MacArthur Park» which makes sense because these two Northern Soul classics and the epic «MacArthur Park» were all composed by Jimmy Webb. He connects «Black is Black» by Los Bravos and ? and the Mysterians’ «96 Tears» and it works because the stock material both share that «I Can’t Help Myself (Sugar Pie Honey Bunch)» bass line. Interestingly, these singles were produced by Jason Darrow who previously wrote songs for ? and the Mysterians like «Hanging on a String.» Also included is Martin’s convincing «side-buckle shoes» interpretation of Jerry Butler’s «He Will Break Your Heart.» He competently covers the Association’s soaring «Goodbye Columbus»-the theme of The Graduate-ish movie based on Philip Roth’s novella The landing gear is activated and the album descends on Mark Eric territory with the wistful, sparkling and sweeping bossa-pop of «Something Beautiful is Gone.» In the late ‘70s, Lundgren entered a Benedictine monastery and immersed himself in the sacred tradition of Gregorian chant, the mystical poets and Bach.

01. One And One — 2:09
02. Trouble Is My Middle Name — 2:29
03. Don’t Take Tomorrow Away — 2:40
04. I Never Promised You A Garden Of Love — 2:36
05. Black Is Black / 96 Tears — 2:24
06. A Little Misunderstanding — 2:46
07. You’re So Young — 2:24
08. I Need You — 2:06
09. Come Into My Heart (And Let Me Love You) — 3:04
10. I Keep It Hid — 3:47
11. He Will Break Your Heart — 3:01
12. Don’t Throw Our Love To The Wind — 2:55
13. Goodbye Columbus (From The Paramount Picture »Goodbye Columbus») — 2:39
14. Let Me Live — 2:28
15. Something Beautiful Is Gone — 2:58


Категории: Albums, Pop Rock, USA  Метки:
Notify of

0 комментариев
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments