Sea Level — Sea Level 1977 (USA, Progressive/Jazz/Blues Rock)

Исполнитель: Sea Level
Откуда: USA
Альбом: Sea Level
Год выхода: 1977
Жанр: Progressive/Jazz/Blues Rock
Формат: MP3 CBR 320
Размер архива: 98.1 МB

Jazz-rock combo Sea Level was formed in 1976 by keyboardist Chuck Leavell, bassist Lamar Williams, and drummer Jai Johanny «Jaimoe» Johanson following their exit from the Allman Brothers Band; guitarist Jimmy Nalls completed the original lineup, which in 1977 issued its self-titled debut LP on the Capricorn label. Honing its distinctive marriage of rock, blues, and jazz through relentless touring, the group returned to the studio with an expanded lineup including vocalist/saxophonist/keyboardist Randall Bramblett, guitarist Davis Causey, and drummer George Weaver to cut Cats on the Coast, also released in 1977, followed in 1978 by On the Edge featuring Paul McCartney & Wings drummer Joe English; although Jaimoe had returned to the Allmans, Sea Level recorded two more albums — 1979’s Long Walk on a Short Pier for Capricorn (finally released in the U.S. in 1998) and 1980’s Ball Room for Arista — before dissolving. Leavell later emerged as a sought-after session player and producer, also touring with the Rolling Stones; in 1998, he issued his debut solo LP, What’s in That Bag? Randall Bramblett also subsequently restarted his solo career that had begun before joining Sea Level, issuing a number of critically acclaimed albums on the New West label after the turn of the millennium. Sadly, on January 25, 1983 Williams died of cancer, which some believed was attributable to his exposure to Agent Orange during the Vietnam War. Jimmy Nalls was diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease in 1995, although he continued performing and recording in the face of the disease’s symptoms, issuing the solo CD Ain’t No Stranger in 1999. [Jason Ankeny]

01. Rain In Spain — 6:46
02. Shake A Leg — 3:53
03. Tidal Wave — 5:38
04. Country Fool — 3:38
05. Nothing Matters But The Fever — 7:18
06. Grand Larceny — 5:21
07. Scarborough Fair — 5:30
08. Just A Good Feeling — 3:00

Chuck Leavell (Charles Alfred Leavell) — keyboards, lead vocals
Jimmy Nalls — guitars, backing vocals
Lamar Williams — bass, backing vocals
Jaimoe (Jai Johanny Johanson) — drums, percussion
Rudolph Carter, Charles Fairley, Earl Ford, Leo LaBranche, Donald McClure — horns
Stewart Levine — producer


Категории: Albums, Blues/Blues Rock, Jazz/Jazz Rock, Progressive Rock, USA  Метки:
Notify of

0 комментариев
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments