Octopus – The Boat Of Thoughts 1977 (Germany, Krautrock/Heavy Progressive Rock)

Исполнитель: Octopus
Откуда: Germany
Альбом: The Boat Of Thoughts
Год выхода: 1977
Жанр: Krautrock/Heavy Progressive Rock
Формат: MP3 CBR 320
Размер архива: 89.5 МB

Octopus was originally a German progressive rock band which shifted to a more commercial hard rock style in the early 1980s. They are mainly remembered for the three albums released by Sky Records between 1976 and 1980. The band’s sound during that period was defined by the powerful alto voice of Jennifer Hensel, whose sometimes gritty sound has been compared to Janis Joplin and Jenny Haan. Octopus was formed in Frankfurt/Main in 1973 with an original lineup of bassist Claus-Dieter Kniemeyer, guitarist Pit Hensel, vocalist Jennifer Hensel, keyboardist Werner Littau and drummer Dieter Becke. By the time they went into the studio to record their first album Becke had been replaced by Frank Eule who, in turn, was replaced by Seppl Niemeyer in October, 1977. The first two albums, «The Boat of Thoughts» (1976) and «An Ocean of Rocks» (1977) are heavy in keyboard work by Littau (organ, Moog synthesizer, and Mellotron) and are often reminiscent of Camel, albeit with a bit more of a hard edge. The band’s lyrics on the first three albums are entirely in English. The first two albums are generally considered to be Octopus’ best work. In September, 1978 Pit Hensel was replaced by Win Kowa (formerly of Streetmark) on guitar. In June, 1979 Octopus played for 60,000 at „Rock gegen Rechts“ in Frankfurt/Main. The band began a shift to a straight hard rock style with the album «Rubber Angel», released in January, 1980. Kowa and Jennifer Hensel left after that album and were briefly replaced by Doris Tangel and Alex Rodman. During the summer of 1980 Georg Klivinyi took over as guitarist and Michael Stein (4) joined as lead vocalist, giving the band an entirely different commercial sound for their final album «Hart Am Rand» (1981). The band went through a further series of personnel changes before finally disbanding in May, 1983.

01. The First Flight Of The Owl — 5:16
02. Kill Your Murderer — 6:15
03. If You Ask Me — 6:14
04. The Delayable Rise Of Glib — 3:22
05. We’re Losing Touch — 5:55
06. The Boat Of Thoughts — 9:09

Jennifer Hensel — female lead vocals
Pit Hensel — guitars
Werner Littau — keyboards, strings
Claus-Dieter Kniemeyer — bass
Frank Eule — drums
Octopus — producers


Категории: Albums, Art Rock, Germany, Heavy Progressive Rock, Krautrock  Метки:
Notify of

0 комментариев
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments