Hour Glass – Hour Glass 1967 (USA, Blue-Eyed Soul/Rhythm & Blues)

Исполнитель: Hour Glass
Откуда: USA
Альбом: Hour Glass
Год выхода: 1967
Жанр: Blue-Eyed Soul/Rhythm & Blues
Формат: MP3 CBR 320
Размер архива: 116.5 МB

The Hour Glass were a 1960s rhythm and blues band based in Los Angeles, California between 1967 and 1968. Among their members were two future members of the Allman Brothers Band (Duane Allman and his brother Gregg) and three future studio musicians at the world-renowned Fame Studios in Muscle Shoals, Alabama (Pete Carr, Johnny Sandlin and Paul Hornsby). Formed from the ashes of two disbanded rival groups that had played the same southern circuit, The Allman Joys (based in Florida) and the Men-its (based in Alabama), the group was booked in early 1967 into a month-long engagement in St. Louis, Missouri, where they met members of the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band, whose manager, Bill McEuen, arranged for them a contract with Liberty Records. Moving to Los Angeles, they were soon opening for groups like The Doors and Buffalo Springfield and recording their eponymous debut album, full of lighthearted poppy soul that was quite contrary to what the group was performing in various clubs and theatres in California such as the Fillmore West and Troubadour, picked out by the label from a pool of songwriters including Jackson Browne. The album flopped, perhaps because the group, aside from Gregg Allman, was sparsely used in the studio. Onstage, the group rarely performed tracks from the album, preferring original material by the younger Allman alongside covers of Otis Redding and Yardbirds songs. Over the next few months, however, the group lingered, unable to perform outside of southern California due to label constraints. Eventually losing bassist Mabron McKinney, they soldiered on, performing concerts and recording a second album, Power of Love, which featured bassist Pete Carr. However, like their debut, Power of Love, which also featured the songwriting skills of Gregg Allman and material that fit the group much better than the material on their debut, flopped. Pulling out one last-ditch effort by leaving Los Angeles to work at the legendary FAME Studios in Muscle Shoals, Alabama, the group recorded a handful of tracks that, for once, showed their full potential in the studio. After these tracks were rejected by the label, the group became dejected and broke up. The group over, Duane and Gregg Allman went to Jacksonville, Florida where they jammed with folk-rockers The 31st of February, featuring drummer Butch Trucks. The others went to do session work in Muscle Shoals. Liberty Records threatening to sue the group for disbanding, they were given the rights to a solo album by Gregg Allman to keep them from doing so. However, tracks for the album were only issued twenty-five years later when they were released as bonus tracks on the compact disc reissues of the group’s two albums. With his brother back in Los Angeles, Duane Allman temporarily joined his fellow bandmates in Muscle Shoals, eventually forming The Allman Brothers Band, enticing his brother back from Los Angeles.

01. Out Of The Night — 1:56
02. Nothing But Tears — 2:27
03. Love Makes The World Go ‘Round — 2:40
04. Cast Off All My Fears — 3:29
05. I’ve Been Trying (Version #2) — 2:38
06. No Easy Way Down — 3:18
07. Heartbeat — 4:51
08. So Much Love — 2:56
09. Got To Get Away — 2:13
10. Silently — 2:47
11. Bells — 2:23
12. In A Time — 2:17
13. I’ve Been Trying (Version #1) — 2:35
14. Kind Of A Man — 3:07
15. D-I-V-O-R-C-E — 3:12
16. She Is My Woman — 2:28
17. Bad Dream — 3:37
18. Three Time Loser — 2:39
* Tracks 1-11 constitute the original album
* Tracks 12-13 are outtakes from the album
* Tracks 14-18 are tracks from aborted 1968 and 1969 sessions by Gregg Allman (present on 1992 re-release only)

Gregg Allman — organ, piano, vocals
Duane Allman — guitars, vocals (01-13)
Paul Hornsby — piano, organ, vocals (01-13)
Mabron McKinney — bass (01-13)
Johnny Sandlin — drums (01-13)


Категории: Albums, Rhythm & Blues, Soul, USA  Метки: ,
Notify of

1 Комментарий
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
06.01.2024 01:37

Thank you very much.