Grinderswitch — Honest To Goodness 1974 (USA, Southern/Country Rock)

Исполнитель: Grinderswitch
Откуда: USA
Альбом: Honest To Goodness
Год выхода: 1974
Жанр: Southern/Country Rock
Формат: MP3 CBR 320
Размер архива: 95.7 МB

Grinderswitch was a southern rock band formed in Warner Robbins, Georgia. They recorded for Capricorn Records, but never rose to same success as their label mates, The Marshall Tucker Band or The Allman Brothers Band. Grinderswitch was formed in 1973, while original members Dru Lombar, Larry Howard, Joe Dan Petty and Rich Burnett lived together in farm, practicing and writing songs. Joe Dan Petty was working for The Allman Brother Band at the time and financially supported other members of Grinderswitch, before they got a record contract. After Capricorn Records signed them, first album “Honest to Goodness”, came out in 1974. It started never ending touring for them, taking brakes only to record new albums. Grinderswitch performed side by side with Lynyrd Skynyrd, Wet Willie, The Charlie Daniels Band and other southern rock’s greatest stars. Macon Tracks album came out in 1975 and contained their best known song “Pickin’ the Blues“. Pullin’ Together was released in 1976 with critical acclaim and included live favourites Higher Ground and You’re So Fine. In late 70’s when disco started to rose its ugly head, like with many other bands, Grinderswitch’s record sales suffered and they finally broke up in 1982 after releasing 5 albums between 1974 and 1982. After Grinderswitch, Dru Lombar formed Dr. Hector and The Groove Injectors in 1986 and released five albums. Larry Howard has also recorded several albums under his own name. In 2004 Dru Lombar put Grinderswitch back together with new members Wally Condon on drums, Eddie Stone (from Doc Holliday fame) on keyboards , Jack Corcaran on guitar and Steve Miller on bass. They released new album “Ghost Train From Georgia” in 2005, but Dru Lombar’s death in September 2005 put Grinderswitch back to rest for good.

01. Kiss The Blues Goodbye — 4:57
02. Can’t Keep A Good Man Down — 3:55
03. How The West Was Won — 5:23
04. Eighty Miles To Memphis — 3:02
05. Catch A Train — 4:43
06. Roll On Gambler — 5:17
07. Homebound — 6:47
08. Peach County Jamboree — 3:49
09. You’re So Fine (Live Version) — 3:28

Dru Lombar — lead guitar, slide guitar, lead vocals
Larry Howard — electric & acoustic guitars
Joe Dan Petty — bass, backing vocals
Rick Burnett — drums, congas, percussion
Paul Hornsby — piano, organ, producer
Richard Betts — guitar (01)
Jaimoe (Jai Johanny Johanson) — congas (02, 03)


Категории: Albums, Country/Country Rock, Southern Rock, USA  Метки:
Notify of

2 комментариев
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
29.10.2023 08:11

Thank You. All these years confusing this with Grinder Switch, no wonder I could never find what I was looking for.

juan manuel muñoz valdivia
juan manuel muñoz valdivia
29.10.2023 01:58

Mil gracias, apreciado amigo. Que tengas un gran fin de semana.