Canned Heat — Canned Heat 1967-1976: The Boogie House Tapes 2000 (USA, Blues/Boogie Rock)

Исполнитель: Canned Heat
Откуда: USA
Альбом: Canned Heat 1967-1976: The Boogie House Tapes
Год выхода: 2000
Жанр: Blues/Boogie Rock
Формат: MP3 CBR 320
Размер архива: 364.7 МB

Canned Heat 1967-1976: The Boogie House Tapes is a double-disc set, assembled by drummer Adolfo de la Parra, the only remaining member of the original ’60s band, and Canned Heat collector Walter de Paduwa; it’s a compilation of some previously «lost» studio and live performances of the indefatigable boogie band. While hardcore fans will rejoice hearing the great Alan Wilson, who appears on roughly half of these tracks, in his prime, it’s still a very mixed bag. Guitarists Harvey Mandel and Henry Vestine are featured prominently, as is vocalist Bob «the Bear» Hite who, along with drummer de la Parra, is the only constant band member across these two CDs. Many of these tunes were never intended for release, and as such they are sub-par blues workouts that might have been fun at the time but lay lifeless on album. Still, there are some stunning moments, mostly provided by bird-voiced Wilson, that make this worth the bargain price. Two tunes recorded for the Playboy After Dark TV show in 1969 and 1970, a frustratingly clipped «On the Road Again,» and a chilling «My Time Ain’t Long» (incorrectly credited to Harvey Mandel; it’s actually a Wilson composition) sung by Wilson shortly before his death are certainly of interest to collectors, although neither eclipses the studio version. The same holds for Wilson’s stunning turn on his «London Blues» recorded live at Montreux in 1970. Disc two features six Wilson tracks, and although he isn’t singing on every one, his presence is felt. Guitarist Vestine is fired up on «You Know I Love You,» and there are other tracks that find him in incredible form spitting out psychedelic liquid leads, making the late guitarist, who passed away in 1998, one of the stars of this set. His sterling work on «I Love My Baby» (mysteriously credited to de la Parra as are other jams here) is remarkable, and the band in general locks together like a well-oiled boogie machine with Wilson’s trebly slide stinging like a hornet. Sound quality ranges from just above bootleg to fairly good, sometimes wavering in the same tune, and the skimpy liner notes are barely adequate. Although the information is useful, it’s split between pages, forcing the reader to flip back and forth to see who is playing on which track and where the performance was originally recorded. Clearly this is not the place for a Canned Heat novice to begin, and even more established fans might find its few gems slim pickings among the unfocused, extended, you-had-to-be-there tracks. It’s an intermittently interesting, warts-and-all document of a blues band with good intentions that had some inspired moments, but this inconsistent collection does not show them at their best.

CD 1
01. Reefer Blues (Kickapoo Creek Festival, Summer 1970) — 3:13
02. House Of Blue Lights (Australia 1976) — 3:18
03. Sleepin’ In The Ground (Australia 1976) — 5:20
04. Caterpillar Crawl (Studio Sessions At The Village Recorder L.A., 1971) — 2:23
05. D. Drone (Studio Sessions At The Village Recorder L.A., 1971) — 4:51
06. These Boots Are Made For… (Studio Jokes) (Studio Sessions At The Village Recorder L.A., 1971) — 1:17
07. Cherokee Dance (Studio Sessions At The Village Recorder L.A., 1971) — 2:27
08. Harley Davidson Blues (Dupage County Fairground, 1973) — 2:54
09. Good Bye For Now (Dupage County Fairground, 1973) — 4:05
10. Chicago Bound (Intermedia Radio Show, 02-20-1972) — 3:54
11. On The Road Again (Playboy After Dark, TV Show 1969) — 2:09
12. Human Condition (Kralingen Park Rotterdam, 1970) — 3:10
13. My Time Ain’t Long (Playboy After Dark, TV Show 1970) — 4:39
14. London Blues (Montreux Switzerland, Winter 1970) — 5:27
15. Future Blues (Montreux Switzerland. Winter 1970) — 4:24
16. Move On Down The Road (Beat Club TV Show, Germany 1970) — 1:42
17. Long Way From LA (Campus Berkley 12-08-1971) — 3:44
18. Going Up The Country (Campus Berkley, 12-08-1971) — 2:54
19. Let’s Work Together (Campus Berkley, 12-08-1971) — 4:08
CD 2
01. Bullfrog Blues (Texas International Pop Festival, 08-30-1969) — 5:33
02. Bob Speaks To The Audience (Texas International Pop Festival, 08-30-1969) — 2:54
03. Pulling Hair Blues (Texas International Pop Festival, 08-30-1969) — 9:29
04. You Know I Love You (California 1967) — 6:33
05. I Love My Baby (California 1967) — 10:34
06. Breathe Easy (Montreux Switzerland, 1970) — 7:53
07. Sore Back Blues (Dupage County Fairground, 1973) — 9:25
08. Shaken Boogie (Campus Berkley, 12-08-1971) — 10:15
09. Bring It On Home (Boston Tea Party, 1969) — 8:35
10. Tu Vas Trop Vite (Keep It Clean) — 2:48

Bob Hite (Robert Ernest Hite, Jr.) — guitar, vocals
Henry Vestine (Henry Charles Vestine) — lead guitar
Al Wilson (Alan Christie Wilson) — vocals, rhythm guitar, slide guitar, harmonica
Tony de la Barreda — bass
Fito de la Parra (Adolfo De La Parra) — drums, producer
Samuel Larry Taylor — bass
Harvey Mandel — lead guitar
Joel Scott Hill — guitar, vocals
Chris Morgan — rhythm guitar, slide guitar
James Shane — guitar, vocals
Richard Hite — guitar, vocals
Ed Beyer — keyboards
Magic Dick — harp
Walter De Paduwa — producer

Larry Taylor, Henry Vestine, Bob Hite, Al Wilson, Fito de la Parra


Категории: Albums, Blues/Blues Rock, USA  Метки:
2 комментариев
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
1 month ago