Bettye Swann — The Money Recordings 2001 (USA, Soul)

Исполнитель: Bettye Swann
Откуда: USA
Альбом: The Money Recordings
Год выхода: 2001 (recorded in 1965-1967)
Жанр: Soul
Формат: MP3 CBR 320
Размер архива: 161.1 МB

Betty Barton (born Betty Jean Champion, October 24, 1944), better known by the stage name Bettye Swann, is a retired American soul singer. She is best known for her 1967 hit song «Make Me Yours». Swann was born in Shreveport, Louisiana, United States, one of 14 children. She grew up in Arcadia, Louisiana, and moved to Los Angeles, California, in 1963. Although some sources state that Swann was in a vocal group known as The Fawns who recorded for Capital Records in 1964, she has refuted this, saying that she sang with a trio in Arcadia by that name. In 1964, Swann started a solo singing career, changing her name to Bettye Swann at the prompting of local DJ Al Scott, who became her manager. After a minor hit with the self-penned «Don’t Wait Too Long», her big breakthrough came with «Make Me Yours», which topped the Billboard R&B charts in July 1967 and made No. 21 on the Billboard Hot 100. In 1968, she split with Scott, moved to Georgia, won a new contract with Capitol Records, and had another hit in 1969 with her cover of the Jeannie Seely hit «Don’t Touch Me» (No. 14 R&B, No. 38 Hot 100). In 1972, Swann transferred to Atlantic Records and had a pair of minor hits with «Victim of a Foolish Heart» (later covered by Joss Stone) and Merle Haggard’s «Today I Started Loving You Again». After leaving Money Records she lived for a short time in Athens, Georgia. She continued to record until the mid-1970s, but with little commercial success. Her last public performance was in 1980, the year her husband and manager, George Barton, died. Swann later changed her name to Betty Barton, began working as a teacher in the Las Vegas area, and became a Jehovah’s Witness. She is now retired and, according to a 2005 interview, suffers from a degenerative spinal condition. In 2015, multiple elements from Swann’s 1974 recording «Kiss My Love Goodbye» were sampled in the Galantis single «Peanut Butter Jelly». In 2021, the Vermont-based rapper Subtex [Zeke Kreitzer] sampled the beginning lines of Swann’s 1968 song, «(My Heart Is) Closed For The Season» in his track, «Love Art Pain».

01. Make Me Yours — 3:12
02. Fall In Love With Me — 2:54
03. Don’t Look Back — 2:47
04. Don’t Wait Too Long — 2:37
05. Don’t Take My Mind — 2:30
06. I Can’t Stop Loving You — 3:52
07. I Think I’m Falling In Love — 2:48
08. You Gave Me Love — 2:39
09. The Heartache Is Gone — 2:23
10. I Will Not Cry — 3:03
11. What Is My Life Coming To — 2:43
12. A Change Is Gonna Come — 3:54
13. I Think I’m Falling In Love [Fast Version] (Previously Unreleased) — 2:01
14. The Man Who Said No — 2:20
15. What Can It Be — 2:27
16. Our Love — 2:54
17. Lonely Love — 2:13
18. The Dance Is Over (Previously Unreleased) — 2:02
19. I Will Not Cry (Single Version) — 2:47
20. Don’t Take My Mind (Remix From Multi-Tapes) — 2:34
21. Make Me Yours (Remix From Multi-Tapes) — 3:22
22. Our Love (Previously Unreleased Alternative Vocal) — 3:09
23. You Gave Me Love (Previously Unreleased Alternative Vocal) — 2:59
24. Don’t Look Back (Previously Unreleased Acoustic Guitar Version) — 3:08


Категории: Albums, Soul, USA  Метки:
0 комментариев
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments